Community Safety

Neighbourhood Action Group (NAG)

A Neighbourhood Action Group (NAG) was formed in 2008  jointly with Castlethorpe and Haversham villages. It aims to resolve  neighbourhood problems that may not simply be a matter for the police. The  current priorities are speeding, parking and dog fouling.
Milton Keynes Council officers, Parish Councillors and local residents also sit  on the NAG together with our local police officers and a senior officer. The  Hanslope members of the NAG are:

  • Dorothy Courtman (Chair)
  • Tony Mobley (Dep. Chair)
  • Sheila Mobley (Parish Councillor)
  • Carol Hayward (Parish Councillor)
  • Gavin Lancaster (Parish Councillor)

The NAG meetings are open to all. Minutes from NAG meetings are published here:

2012 Sep 2012 May 2012 Feb 2012
2011 Nov 2011 Sep 2011 Jun 2011 Mar 2011 Jan 2011
2010 Nov 2010 Sep 2010 Jun 2010 Apr 2010 Mar 2010 Jan 2010
2009 Oct 2009 Sep 2009 Jul 2009 May 2009 Mar 2009 Jan 2009


Castlethorpe Parish Councillor Philip  Ayles is the representative for Milton Keynes Rural Parish and Town Councils on  the ‘Responsible Authorities Group’ which is the statutory body responsible for  multi-organisational initiatives to make Milton Keynes safer by reducing crime  and anti-social behaviour and tackling drug and alcohol misuse and the fear of  crime.

The Responsible Authorities are Thames  Valley Police, Buckinghamshire Fire and Rescue Service, Milton Keynes Primary  Care Trust, Thames Valley Police Authority and Milton Keynes Council.

For more information visit the SaferMK web site which has a Community Safety mapping facility so you can now see the various  levels of crime in different parts of MK.

The Thames Valley Police link to MK  Rural West Neighbourhood – site gives details of priorities, local  initiatives and recent activities.